ASPIRING LEADERS’ FORUM 29th August -1st September 2024

The Forum

Each year Aspiring Leaders’ Forum on faith and values (ALF) brings together a diverse, gifted and courageous group of young people and its leaders to discuss leadership from a narrative point of view. All young adults that attend Forum have been nominated by someone who believes in them and are aged between 18 – 26 years old.  ALF is about encouraging young people to become better leaders in their sphere of influence – be it community, arts, business, politics or sport.  Over four days in Wellington participants will discuss why faith and values are foundational, by informing and developing one’s character and one’s leadership.
Read more information on how to nominate.



A day spent at Parliament House offers delegates a real-life glimpse into the day-to-day of Parliament, and a chance to hear up close and personally from our MPs.


Placed into groups of seven delegates, small groups form a significant dimension of the Forum providing the delegates with an opportunity to make close friendships. These friendships often become peer support-networks, helping to reinforce the ideas gained from Forum.


Keynote addresses and seminars feature senior politicians and inspiring leaders from various spheres. Past speakers have included Sir Paul Holmes, Dame Cindy Kiro, Trevor Grice, Nicola Bell, Rob Hamill, Kerre Woodham, Dame Jenny Shipley, Mark Powell, Paul Blackwell, Tuhoe Isaac, Dame Susan Devoy, Sir Ralph Norris, Jim Bolger, Tommy Kapai Wilson, Annah Stretton, Jamie Tuuta and Petra Bagust.


The Forum is held at the Intercontinental Hotel, one of Wellington’s premier hotels.


Held in Karori, an afternoon of community service provides an important means of putting learning into action.


A sports tournament afternoon gives small groups a chance to try their competitive team spirit against one another! And later, cowboy boots and checkered shirts light up the floor at the epic barn dance.

  • “The Forum creates a unique opportunity for politicians to explain and discuss their own philosophies.  It is a unique and refreshing event in the life of Parliament.”

    Hon Bill English
    Hon Bill English // Previous Prime Minister

2018 Host Members of Parliament:

Hon Amy Adams
Kiri Allan
Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi
Andrew Bayly
Hon David Bennett
Hon Simon Bridges
Simeon Brown
Hon Dr David Clark
Marama Davidson

Matt Doocey
Andrew Falloon
Hon Paul Goldsmith
Hon Peeni Henare
Hon Willie Jackson
Hon Nikki Kaye
Barbara Kuriger
Melissa Lee
Hon Tim Macindoe

Ian McKelvie
Todd Muller
Hon Alfred Ngaro
Simon O’Connor
Dr Deborah Russell
David Seymour
Jamie Strange
Chlöe Swarbrick
Fletcher Tabuteau

Jan Tinetti
Hon Anne Tolley
Hon Louise Upston
Tim van de Molen
Hon Nicky Wagner
Louisa Wall
Hon Michael Woodhouse
Dr Jian Yang
Jonathan Young